Counting Days

Four days til my last day as a consultant and my healing trip to Turkey. It is a mixed feelings. I woke up yesterday feeling rather under the weather as I will be leaving the company. However, looking at the bright side, I left for growth. A decision with purpose.

My love for history, culture and Rumi made me decided for Turkey. It will be a journey through the history beginning as early as the Hittities to the Ancient Greek-Roman to the Ottoman Empire and the modern Turkey. I wouldn’t call it soul-searching trip, but I’d prefer to name it the ‘food for soul trip’. I have my soul. I need to enhance its strengths. Feed it the right way since it is now too tired and bitter.

Well, if you read/watch Eat Pray Love, the writer actually went to 3 different countries in order to attain these objective. Eat in Italy, Pray in India and Love in Bali (Indonesia). I on the other hand seek for one country that would be able to give me all three (eat, pray, love). Therefore, Turkey is perfect! Indulging in the scrumptious Turkish cuisine (ie. eat), appreciating the teaching of Sufism and Rumi’s poem (ie. pray), immersing myself in the history of the country which dated back to 1-2BC (ie. love).

I do not have a lot of expectations but I do know I just need to get out of the country to heal myself as I am too disappointed with my career. The day I will be leaving for the trip, is the day that I officially have nothing. No relationship (been 2 years not even dates). No career (as I was told I shouldn’t be doing what I want to do as I do not know or have never done it). But I am grateful to God for my family, the trip and (perhaps) potential opportunities. We do not know. It could be a blessings in disguise.

Leave a Reply

